Anxiety, Uncategorized

Quarter Life Crisis Chronicles: Introduction

It was a slow day at work last Friday morning. I finished the small pile of paperwork leftover from Thursday afternoon. I tried stretching out the processing time a little. Read a few pages, write a few notes, make a personal phone call to my bank to make sure my debit card number wasn’t stolen online Wednesday. I was still done before 11am.

And then, as I was browsing my employer’s Facebook page (no, I really was) an idea struck me. When I was looking at my own Facebook page earlier (see!), a psychology article came up in my newsfeed. Something about how many twenty-somethings feel lost and anxious, mixed in with a bit of excitement, as they enter responsible-official adulthood for the first time. The author of the article used the term, “Quarter Life Crisis.” As I read this article, I began to identify with the symptoms. Bouts of depression, occasional feelings of misplaced confidence in my career choices so far, wondering where my real personality went and how I became so angry and boring.  I think it’s pretty official that I’m in my Quarter Life Crisis. A few years late, apparently. <Pours a very full glass of wine>

And then I realized, I should write about it. I’ve gotten through everything else in life by writing about it. And what better place to write about it than my personal blog? At most 20 people will be forced to see a headline, and at least 5 people will read what I write. The chances of someone actually reading beyond the first paragraph are about even with the chances of me clearing a six figure salary by 30. I’ll take those odds!

So here’s where, if you’ve read this far, I’ll make my pitch to get you to read more of my Chronicles posts later. The thing is, what I write will be real. The truth is, the real me is sarcasm, self-loathing, cynicism, and a whole lot of love for cats and kind people all wrapped up in one 5 foot 3 inch package. I can do positivity and Vegan Spring Rolls and love yourself. But now I just want to laugh. Laugh at everything that makes me feel shitty and like a robot and like I’ve lost my life’s purpose. Because I have. I’m a bit lost at the moment. So now you get to be lost with me. And laugh at all the shitty shit with me. Ok, let’s just do this.

I have no idea what I’m doing. 🙂

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

