Uncategorized

Vegan Spring Roll Salad: Love yourself and your eat your greens.

Man, it has been a long time since my last post.

My life since the end of January 2016 has been about learning new things and reviving some old things. Trying new recipes, teaching myself a new, more positive inner dialogue, and bringing back my former happy, healthy self.

One morning sometime in November last year, I was standing at the door of my bedroom early on a weekday morning. I had finally gotten out of bed after snoozing for ten minutes. I had my hand on the light switch, telling myself I just wanted to leave the light off and get back in bed. What was the point in getting up? I hated myself when I looked in the mirror. I hated going to work. I was annoyed because I knew I would need to cram chores, packing lunch and breakfast, and taking care of the cat into the 20 minutes left until I had to exercise. I was already running late.

And then, after a year and a half of self-help notecards, therapy, fighting with my boyfriend, cat love, and blogging, I decided I wanted my life back. I didn’t want to be angry anymore. The true thing that sparked that decision — I finally thought I was worth being happy. I finally valued myself and my life enough to realize I deserved to make it a good one.

I don’t know where it came from, it just happened that morning. I stopped caring what other people said I should do with my life. I stopped judging myself for not having my career, my finances, my relationships figured out. I just wanted to be happy again.

So, here I am, February 2016, with a delicious salad recipe to share with you. And with a list of accomplishments that include holding a headstand unsupported for the first time, being able to edit HTML and CSS code, and being able to say I love myself and want to be happy.

Since you’ve gotten this far, here’s the salad recipe you’ve been waiting for:

Vegan Spring Roll Salad

(Inspired by a lack of rice paper and Fresh Vegan Spring Rolls | Cheap Clean Eats on Blogilates.com)

Salad Ingredients:

  • Leaf lettuce
  • Extra firm tofu
  • Shredded carrots
  • Chopped purple cabbage
  • Julienned cucumber

Dressing:

  • 4 tablespoons of Hoisin sauce
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 2 or 3 teaspoons of garlic powder and black pepper

Tofu Marinade:

  • 1/3 cup of soy sauce

Directions:

Start chopping veggies! Start with 2 cups of each veggie prepped the way you want and mix what you’ve chopped together in a mixing bowl. If you want more, chop another cup.

If you’re a slow chopper like me, stop a few minutes in and switch to slicing your tofu. Slice each piece about the size of wedge fries. So, 2 inches long and about 1 inch wide. Put the sliced tofu in a container with your soy sauce to marinate. Take the tofu out after a few minutes. (Seriously, probably 5 minutes max. Or it will soak up too much soy sauce.)

Finish chopping your veggies and throw them in a big mixing bowl. Give them a mix and add more veggies if you’d like.

Put the tofu on a heated pan with some oil. (I like grapeseed oil. It has a high smoke point and mild flavor.) Sear them on each side for about 5 minutes. When they have a little crisp to the outside, they’re done. Set them aside on your cutting board.

It’s time to dress up your veggies! Chop the lime in two halves and squeeze those halves over the whole salad. Then season it with garlic powder and black pepper. Drizzle the Hoisin sauce over the top.

Add a few blocks of tofu to your bowl and top with your salad. Or chop the tofu into cubes and put it on top of the salad. And enjoy! (I added some chow mein noodles on top too. Which are not vegan, of course, but I loved the crunch!)

Chef’s Notes – Someone suggested I squeeze some of the moisture out of the tofu before marinating. Put it between two paper towels and give it a squish. That would help it hold the soy sauce better. I’ll try that next time.

Let me know what you think if you try this salad. I thought the lime juice cut the leafy taste of the lettuce and complemented the soy sauce well.

–Much love to you. 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

